Best video editing software

JMTaylor 14:18 19 Apr 2006

Does anyone have an opinion as to what is the best? I'm new to a VCR but i'd like to buy the best software under £100. I'm tempted by the Adode Premier elements 2 bundled with their photoelements 4 which I can get down to £80.
Many thanks,
John Taylor

Totally-braindead 14:40 19 Apr 2006

I'm not an expert on this sort of thing at all but I think the others will need a bit more info about what you want the software to do. I can't advise as I said its not my thing but I can see the others will need more info. Firstly is it XP you have, how fast is your computer, how much memory and how much hard space do you have? Also what do you want to do? You mention VHS. Do you wish to copy VHS to DVD or what do you actually wish to do?

If you just wish to copy from VHS to DVD without any editing and mucking about its faster and much easier just to get a DVD recorder and copy via the SCART from the video to the DVD as VHS is analogue and before you do anything to it on your computer you need to convert it to digital, or so I have been told.

JMTaylor 15:44 21 Apr 2006

I have a new JVC digital video camera that and I wish to take "home movies" on that. The output is passed to my 80Gig pc hardrive running windows XP professional.
These clips will need editing and perhaps adding an introduction, soundtrack, commentary, fading in/out, inserting music or stills etc.
After cutting out the rubbish and dubbing as necessary I would then like to burn to a DVD for viewing on mine, or an other, television.
I don't particulary want a beginners package as I'm sure I will want more once I've started but my limit is £100.
Is this better info?

fitshase 16:12 21 Apr 2006

Before paying out for a video editing package - why not try the built in Windows Movie Maker (in Windows XP - start\programs\accessories).