Best alternative to the Cannon range of printers?

Rolopuss 13:49 04 Jun 2010

Hi all, Newbie here!

Like other posters here I thought I'd done my homework thoroughly when looking for a new printer and settled on the MP990 - UNTIL I ran the model through google and found this forum (groan!).

I've now decided to purchase a scanner separately but need to find an alternative good quality pritner for home use: some photo printing, CD printing, document printing (b/w+col). Spread over weeks or monthe the use would be 'light-ish'/occassional. Budget: £400.00 max.

Not now considering an all-in-one 'cos don't want all my printing/copying/scanning eggs in one basket!

Can anyone help, please?

Thanks.

sunnystaines 15:12 04 Jun 2010

i have always liked the hp range, found more reliable than some other makes.

961 16:05 04 Jun 2010

HP range is best, for quality of output and economy of use, as the print heads are in the cartridges and do not need elaborate never ending cleaning programmes

No need to spend anything like £400

Macscouse 22:09 05 Jun 2010

I have an HP Photosmart C8180 all-in-one, which has a built in CD burner with lightscribe, and a built-in slide and negative scanner for the old photos. It is wifi and bluetooth, and has individual cartridges for the different colours. Fairly quiet. Very happy with it.

Forum Editor 23:54 05 Jun 2010

and I'm very happy with it.

For some reason I don't print nearly as much these days, compared with a few years ago.

jack 10:29 06 Jun 2010

All in one or separates.
Like Audio/Hi-Fi/TV with built in players
Separate dedicated units tend to have higher spec's [Transparency/ negative copying for example]cost more of course - but if one item goes down you are not totally out of action.
Allinones offer smaller footprint, Off computer copying and printing.
As for brands - as they all in fierce competition the specs and prices change almost weekly- Marketing by confusion I think the term is.