Advice needed on buying CD/DVD player & speakers

Bootham 20:27 04 Aug 2017

Hi, I am a complete tech novice and have decided I need something to play CDs and DVDs on. The only tech I own is a MacBook Air, which I dislike and only use for watching stuff online (I have a work laptop which I use for anything serious). After years of trying to fathom good ways of listening to music and watching films online, I have come to the conclusion that I actually want CDs and DVDs (I thought about vinyl instead of CDs but the relative expense and scarcity has put me off). So - where do I start? I don't own a TV, so what do I watch DVDs on? Do I buy something that plays both DVDs and CDs, and get a monitor of some kind to watch them on? Do I watch them on my MacBook (hope not)? Do I need speakers? An amp? I have no idea! I don't have a huge budget but can afford to spend a few hundred to get it right, if that's what it takes. I want to rebuild my music collection - I listen to a mix of classical and then 1970s/80s stuff - Iggy Pop, punk, synths, all sorts. Films - I like scifi and independent and documentaries. I don't know where to start! Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Menzie 22:25 04 Aug 2017

I think one of two options would be best:

1. Connecting your MacBook to existing equipment. If you already have a TV and/or home theater a few adapters and cables is all you need to turn these into a display for movies and system for sound.

2. A Home Theatre In a Box. These are made by various manufacturers including Philips, Sony, Panasonic and more. They contain a DVD/CD slot, built in amp and several speakers for surround sound. It will use your existing TV as a display and do the audio itself. The only downside is these devices are tuned for movies sound-wise so aren't the purest when it comes to audio.

Bootham 22:39 04 Aug 2017

Thank you for your help. A theatre in a box sounds interesting - I'll look into that.

Menzie 23:21 04 Aug 2017