Acer vs Sony laptop

JaneAtt 16:11 28 Aug 2006

I am currently deciding between two laptops, the Acer 5003WMLi and the Sony FS515E. The differences between them that are causing me trouble are as follows;

1. The Sony has an Intel Celeron 1.7ghz processor whilst the Acer has an AMD Turion 1.8ghz processor. I think the Acer one is better but i'm not sure what difference this will make and if it matters to me?

2. The Sony has an x-black screen which i've heard is quite good but i dont know anything about. Is it a feature worth taking into consideration?

3. Battery time is important to me as i am a student and need to take my laptop out to lectures with me. The sony has a three hour battery but i cant find out what the Acer has. Does anybody know?

The only things i will be using my laptop for are storing i-tunes and photos, word processing, going on the internet and possibly downloading and watching tv programmes (if i can figure out how to do it!). I dont play games or do anything remotely difficult.

I would be grateful for any advice on either the issues i have raised or any other significant differences which may affect me. As is probably clear i am a technophobe so any help will be very gratefully received!!!

johndere 16:25 28 Aug 2006

Both make good laptops, but i would go for the sony, in my mind the make better laptops.

tammer 16:36 28 Aug 2006

There's a little more info on the Acer here:

click here;jsessionid=1544f30b80a1816/shopdata/Notebooks/Aspire/Aspire+5000/product_overview.shopscript

It seems to have 3 hours of life in it too. I don't know about the difference in processors but it probably doesn't make much difference if you're not pushing it too hard with games or complex Excel programs.

The Sony has a bigger hard disk which could be a factor if you've loads of music and photos.

If you decide to get the Acer, make sure that you upgrade the RAM to 512mb.

Tammer

silverous 17:05 28 Aug 2006