Acer laptop - 2nd return

sean-278262 05:03 30 Dec 2006

Once again I am back. Seems like the millionth time I am back asking about my laptop and position with regard the warranty.

Short version - Aspire 3023wlmi laptop. Seems to be overheating. It is just shy of 1 year old, was repaired already. Has a few other niggly other problems. What do I say to the support people as I need it sorted fast as I am a student with assignments to do and not wanting to be without it for 3 more weeks!

Read on for the full details but thats optional. Just laying out the finer points from here on.

I have an acer aspire 3023wlmi (LX.A4805.024)

click here

I guess it is best to tell the full tale. I am a student (UK for uni and ROI is home) so it is vital for my entertainment, studies and used between home and away I no longer have a desktop PC.

I purchased it at the end of Jan 2006 as a replacement to a tesco laptop which I ended up getting a refund on as both died within 2 weeks of purchase and was plain unreliable. I purchased the above laptop at £640 on the date in question.

I used it till april before it died for the fist time when I was home for easter break 2 days before I had to go back. Called Acer (4hours overall) collected the day I left. 3 weeks later returned it to the wrong address even though we said to deliver it to my term time address. Returned with a new hard drive fitted as the old one had died. As you can guess I was not impressed at footing the bill to get it shipped to the correct place.

In October the keyboard had begun to be less responsive. Not a big problem as I tend to use an external one anyway and only use the one on the machine when studying with friends or at a library.