Optimum 3DS Max Rendering Machine?

pnunneley 11:21 31 Jul 2008

Hi There,

I am looking, in the not too distant future, to get a new pc built, I have been shopping round for components but have hit a bit of a problem. I work as a 3D visualiser in an architects office and predominantly use 3D Max, Vray and Photoshop and I am looking to get a PC for home use that can give me the best performance when it comes to Rendering out from Vray and 3DS max, the problem is that I use a Dell system at work with 2 Intel Xeon Quad 1.8Ghz processors and 4GB RAM (quad-channel DDR2 Fully Buffered DIMM 533MHz ECC memory). My problem is that I have been looking at components and seen that DDR3 RAM can run at 1800Mhz but I can only find single CPU motherboards which will support this and all the dual processor motherboards all seem to only take FB DIMM DDR2 so...

THE BIG QUESTION:

Should I be looking at a dual processor system with 2 slower processors (due to cost) and slower FB DIMM RAM -OR- a single fater processor system with the fastest DDR3 RAM?

In both cases I would probably look at 4GB RAM and a 64bit operating system but some advise on the optimum Rendering hardware would be appreciated! Of course if I'm way off the mark on what are the most important components then please let me know!

pnunneley 11:31 31 Jul 2008

Just another point, I always read and thought that Intel was the processor of choice for rendering but have just read a thread on another site saying that AMD have out performed in recent benchmark tests? any advise?

I am Spartacus 12:12 31 Jul 2008

You haven't mentioned a budget.

Will you also want something like a Nvidia Quadro FX5600 click here or a consumer graphics card?

Although DDR3 is dropping in price I don't think the performance gain over fast DDR2 is worth the difference in price (unless you have a big budget).

How about looking at Dell systems?

pnunneley 13:02 31 Jul 2008

Hi There,