E-machine PSU

llollipoppi 19:55 05 Oct 2007

Hi I think my power supply may be on its way out or at least the fan is as every so often it sounds like its about to take off then it calms down again. I figured to be safe I would just replace the whole PSU unit but I have never done it before and I'm not sure which one to buy. It is an ATX case, p.c is about 3 years old.

Can anyone point me in the right direction please??

Thanks

Laurie

jack 20:14 05 Oct 2007

Noisy Fan may be simply a dry bearing -
This is simply remedied with a drop of light oil on the bearing - under a silver foil label on the boss of the fan.
The speeding/up down is normal as the PSU comes under increasing/decreasing load.
PSU's are pretty standard and simply replace it with one of similar out put or higher- they come now days with a adaptable MoBo power plug to cover different boards types simply put in what came out.
As for suppliers they are all there on the Web

www/dabs.com
click here
click here
to name but three
For a machine like the E Machine you will not need a horrendously expensive one- just browse and take your time.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 20:22 05 Oct 2007

If renewing a PSU check:

1. The physical size of your PSU, some are hard to replace due to being a non standard size.
2. The amount of power need from the PSU don't skimp

1. Physical Dimensions

Besides the specs and form factors, the physical dimensions are also important factors in selecting a compatible power supply. Here is an outline of the physical dimensions of most standard power supplies:

# ATX: 6x3.5x5.5", HxWxD. Most common. Uses 4 mounting screws.
# Mini-ATX: 5x3.5x5", HxWxD. Rare size. Uses 4 mounting screws. Can be used in a regular ATX case, but often not the other way around.
# MicroATX: 5x3x4", HxWxD. Use 3 mounting screws. Not interchangeable with ATX or miniATX.
# Flex ATX: Even smaller than Micro ATX. Various sizes according to case specs; often not interchangeable.