Whether you simply don't use Twitter or you just can't be doing with it anymore, it's easy to delete your Twitter account. Here's how to deactivate Twitter. Also see: Best Twitter tips & tricks.
How to permanently delete Twitter or temporarily deactivate Twitter
To deactivate your Twitter account you must first log into the site. Now click on your profile photo, which is shown in the top bar, and choose Settings.
At the bottom of the Account settings page is a link to deactivate your account. Click on this.
It's important to note that for the first 30 days your account will merely be deactivated, and you can reactivate Twitter simply by logging back in. After the 30 days are up, your account and data will be permanently deleted. However, it is possible to download a copy of your user data, as we'll explain below.
If you intend to create a new account using the same name, be sure to change it on your old account first - that name won't be available to use by new accounts during the 30-day deactivation period.
Twitter says that although your account will be removed within minutes, some content may be viewable on the site for a few days following deactivation. Plus, it has no control over content indexed by search engines like Google.
If you're sure you want to deactivate your account, click the blue Deactivate @XXX button.
Before you go - how to download Twitter data
Before you deactivate your Twitter account and risk permanently losing your user data if you do not log in within 30 days, it may be worth downloading a copy of your data.
As before, log into Twitter, then click your profile picture in the top bar and choose Settings.
On the Account settings page is a link to request your Twitter archive. Click the 'Request your archive' button and you will be emailed a link from which you can download your data.
Read next: How to delete Facebook.
Follow Marie Brewis on Twitter.